The Botanical Garden's Board of Directors

Executive Committee
Karen Greenwood
1st Vice President/Chair, Development
Julie Zacher
Treasurer/Chair, Finance
Madison Marceau
Gabriel Durand-Hollis
Chair, Board Management
Shari Mao
Chair, Buildings and Gardens
Allen Sikes
Chair, Science and Education
Julie Wilkinson
Chair, Long Range Planning
Jim Greenwood
Omar Akhil
Gregg Munster
Sarah Cochran
David Meyers II
Advisory Member
Claire Alexander
Ex-Officio Member
Homer Garcia
Ex-Officio Member
Sabina Carr, CEO

Board Members
Omar Akhil
Candace Andrews
Lauren Browning
Sarah Cochran
Courtney Collins
Gabriel Durand-Hollis
Roberto Espinosa
Fern Lee "Missy" Finck
Lou Celia Frost
Magdalena Gaona
Jim Greenwood
Karen Greenwood
Erika Ivanyi
Cally M. Kothmann
Shari Mao
Madison Marceau
David Meyers II
Kristina Moore
Carlos Moreno
Gregg Muenster
Belinda Nixon
William "Bill" Orr
Janet Putman
Dennis Quinn
Allen Sikes
Paula Stumberg
John Troy
Michael Wargovich
Julie Roberts Wilkinson
Julie Zacher



Chief Executive Officer


Chief Financial


Director of


Director of


Associate Director of Gardens and Conservatories


Director of


Director of


Director of

Sabina Carr
Chief Executive Officer

Sabina Carr is the chief executive officer for the San Antonio Botanical Garden. Sabina joined the San Antonio Botanical Garden in the fall of 2019 after an extensive national search. She arrived at a significant juncture for the public garden that had just transitioned to privatization in January 2019. Sabina directs all operations for the 38-acre public garden located in the heart of San Antonio’s cultural corridor, and under her leadership oversees fundraising, education, marketing, business administration and horticultural efforts with a membership household base of 6,000 and annual visitation of 170,000.

The Botanical Garden recently completed a successful $40M capital campaign that transformed the garden with stunning new gardens, facilities and amenities, including a culinary garden, an outdoor teaching kitchen, family adventure garden, and new state-of-the-art event and education center. Sabina is activating these new spaces with exciting new programs and events to attract more earned revenue and broaden audiences while connecting more people to the importance of plants in our lives.

She is Past President of the Board of the American Public Gardens Association, a national network of 600 member gardens and 6,000 individual members. Prior to joining the San Antonio Botanical Garden, Sabina was Vice President, Marketing for the Atlanta Botanical Garden where she helped lead the garden’s impressive growth over 15 years by quadrupling three key areas; annual operating budget, annual visitation and household membership. Before her career in public gardens, Sabina worked in New York City and held marketing positions with American Express, Conde Nast, and Saatchi & Saatchi Advertising. She holds a B.A, in English Literature from Southern Methodist University located in Dallas, TX.

Cindy Campbell
Chief Financial Officer

Cindy Campbell joined the San Antonio Botanical Garden in 2019 as the Chief Financial Officer. Cindy’s career has included both for profit and not for profit roles. She has held positions at the Jewish Federation of San Antonio, SWBC and SAMMinistries to name a few. Cindy holds a B.B.A. with a concentration in accounting and holds a Texas license as a certified public accountant.

Katherine Trumble
Director of Development

Katherine Trumble joined the San Antonio Botanical Garden in May 2020 as director of development. With more than 10 years of experience, Katherine is well practiced in leading a comprehensive fund development program and has built a career around a passion for arts and culture. In this role, Katherine oversees the development department and contributed revenue at the Botanical Garden. This includes membership, annual fund, major gifts, grants, fundraisers, planned giving and capital projects.

Prior to the Botanical Garden, Katherine worked at the McNay Art Museum, the Briscoe Western Art Museum, Montgomery Museum of Fine Arts in Montgomery, AL and El Pomar Foundation in Colorado Springs, CO. Katherine holds a B.A. in American Studies and Government from the University of Texas at Austin and a Master of Public Policy from the University of Denver.

Andrew Labay
Director of Horticulture

Andrew Labay joined the San Antonio Botanical Garden in 2017 as a horticulturist responsible for the Lucile Halsell Conservatory’s plant production and plant collections. In 2020, he was promoted to Director of Horticulture. In this role, Andrew oversees the management of horticulture operations and plant collections across all gardens. He brings over 10 years’ experience in horticulture with a strong background in greenhouse management and perennial fruit crops. Prior to joining the Botanical Garden, Andrew served as a viticulture program specialist with Texas A&M Agrilife Extension. Andrew holds a M.S. of Integrative Plant Biology from the University of Montpellier II, located in the south of France.

Scott Litchke
Associate Director of Gardens and Conservatories

Scott Litchke joined the San Antonio Botanical Garden in 1992. Over the past 28 years, Scott has played a vital role in the horticulture of the Botanical Garden, specifically in the development of the Texas Native Trail area. In 2020, Scott was elevated to Associate Director of Gardens and Conservatories. In this role, Scott is responsible for managing and coordinating garden activities for the 38-acre urban oasis, including the award-winning, Lucile Halsell Conservatory. Scott provides leadership with the horticultural design development, indoor/outdoor displays, planting projects, garden renovations and maintenance. Scott also supports with establishing new garden areas and exhibitions.

Katie Erickson
Director of Programs

Katie Erickson joined the San Antonio Botanical Garden in 2017 as director of programs. Katie has over 15 years of nonprofit experience in educational programming, engaging diverse audiences, and developing community partnerships. Most recently, Katie served as director of education at the San Antonio Museum of Art for 10 years and brings extensive experience in programming with pre-K-12, family, and adult audiences. Katie received her B.A. in Art History from the University of California at Santa Cruz and M.A. in Museum Learning and Visitor Studies from the University of Leicester.

Eliana Rodriguez
Director of Marketing

Eliana Rodriguez joined the San Antonio Botanical Garden in 2019 as director of marketing. In this role, Eliana oversees the marketing, guest experience and gift shop teams. She is responsible for the organization’s brand, media relations, paid advertising, digital strategies, member publication, admissions and store efforts. Prior to the Botanical Garden, Eliana worked at the San Antonio Area Foundation and NALCAB-National Association for Latino Community Asset Builders. Eliana is bilingual and holds a B.A. from Our Lady of the Lake University.

Sam Hogg
Director of Operations

Sam Hogg is the director of operations at the San Antonio Botanical Garden. Sam joined the Botanical Garden in 2016 with 10 years of experience in the facilities operations industry. In this role, Sam oversees the functioning of all 34 building systems including mechanical, electrical, fire/life safety, plumbing and waste management for the 38-acre property. Sam has been heavily involved in the operating facets of the $40M capital project with Phase I & II ranging from landscape irrigation to the state-of-art facilities.