About Us

The San Antonio Botanical Garden Society’s mission is to inspire people to connect with the plant world and understand the importance of plants in our lives.  Engaging cultural activities, practical community classes, inspiring children’s camps, dynamic school programs, critical endangered plant research efforts, and diverse and spectacular plant collections educate visitors to the many roles that plants play in our lives.

The Garden is a top San Antonio attraction that serves as a museum of plants, a tranquil escape, a living classroom, a research and conservation facility, and entertainment venue where art, architecture, music, and theater experiences come to life for more than 150,000 annual visitors, including 49,000 children. Nearly 1,000 volunteers provide a beautiful and engaging environment for children and adults to experience the world of plants and nature, learning practical ways to care for our environment.

Chartered in 1980, the Botanical Garden Society has brought nearly $18 million in major capital improvements to the city-owned Botanical Garden.  Plans to expand the footprint and programs of the Garden as well as to assume management of the Garden from the City of San Antonio over the next five years have the Garden on track to becoming the best regional garden in the nation.

Board Of Directors

John Troy President
Robin Howard 1st Vice President
Michael Swanson Treasurer
Cally Kothmann Secretary
Claire  Liedtke Alexander Pam Howard
Bennett Allison Sonia Imperial
Nick Bastress Estee Kellogg
Tisha Beck Barbara Kyse
Lauren Browning Marline Carter Lawson
Kristen Casey Shirley Mahony
Keli Davidson Susie Martin
Karen Dawson Susan Mengden
J. Patrick Deely Christy Merecka
Caroleene Dobson Linde Murphy
Gabriel Durand-Hollis Belinda Nixon
Elizabeth Eades Janet Putman
Magdalena Gaona Julia Rendon Reinhart
Susan Ghertner Jeff Rochelle
Stanley Goldman Bette Vexler
Linda Gunter Michael Wargovich
Sharon Gustowski

The San Antonio Botanical Garden Society, Inc. Is a non-profit tax-exempt organization recognized under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and described under sections 509(a)(1) and 170(b)(1)(A)(vi).